Affordable Luxury – cheap custom made suit in Central

Posted: April 17, 2015 in shopping
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I am a big fan of Uniqlo.  It allows me to buy things outside my pay grade ie. supima cotton garments.  Their blazers are very affordable at $800/blazer & $600/pants for $1400 total and as my normal tailor will usually charge $3500.

Screenshot 2015-03-24 17.21.53Screenshot 2015-03-24 17.24.51

I quite enjoy going to the tailors and running through the swatch book.  I go on a regular basis as there are always new friends in town forcing me to play tour guide.  I have notice one thing, paralysis by analysis when it comes to choosing fabrics.  Everything starts to look the same after a certain point in time and I end up influencing friends with my newest commission.  Now I am only responsible for the introduction to the tailor and take a back seat.  Sit down and shut up.  My first ever suit was done at Tai Pan Row in IFC for a cool $7k.  My next suit at Bonham Strand under the guidance of Lee to a tune of $3,500.

I notice one thing, I have a very normal plain jane body type.  I fit off the rack just fine and Uniqlo clothing fits well.  My last few rounds of suits have been off-the-rack.  A friend told me about Cheung Hing Tailors in Central so I had to give it a try as it is $1098 for a suit, custom made to your specs.  At this price point it is cheaper than off the rack.  The tailor did the usual measurements with the only custom feature being the number of buttons.  Gone was all the selection to which I had grown accustomed to barking: working sleeves, lapel size, type of buttons, pleats etc.  The invoice is very third world where they give you a piece of swatch to delineate your selection.  The last time I got this type of service was doing custom made shirts in Cambodia.

cheung hing suit invoice, it's cheap

cheung hing suit invoice, it’s cheap

If you fit off the rack, there’s no way these guys can screw it up.  Bring a previous custom made suit from another tailor to which you would like for these guys to mimic the fit.  They do a lot of fast fashion and tuxedos so the fit will be fit and trendy unless you have an example to show them otherwise.  You get what you pay for in pricing so allow me to be the test case.  So long as the suit holds up to Uniqlo standards I will be a happy customer.  At the price point, it makes a great deal for throw-away clothing where you can look good at the beginning of the night and dashing while you puke all over yourself.

It would be a waste of time to go through their large swatch books only to realize the fabric is no longer available.  The countless hours spent pouring over fabric is a waste of time, take a look at the inventory in their office and pick from there.

Phone: 25239737

Leave a Reply

