Sama’s Japanese Curry in Central’s Gough Street

Posted: April 1, 2015 in food, lunch
Tags: , ,
Sama Japanese Curry

japanese curry in Central’s Gough Street. Japanese businesses love their bears

I notice a new restaurant on Gough Street.  Sama does Japanese curry soup on rice with varying degrees of spice (1-30) and 3 different soup broths: tomato, coconut and prawn.

I have their chicken curry with level 10 spice in a tomato broth.  It was too spicy to eat.  I’ll order with a 5 next time.  You would not imagine 10/30 to be hot.  The vegetarian curry is cabbage in place of meat.  Each soup curry already arrives with a large amount of vegetables – okra, eggplant, potato, cauliflower, brocolli and asparagus.

2015-03-27 12.25.28

For $88 and without the long lineups associated with Shugetsu, I don’t think I will be enjoying their offerings in the future.  It’s a large serving of food but not right for my palette.  The soup had too much salt masking the taste of the tomato broth.  When I could detect tomatoes the spice was doing a number on my stomach.  No explosive diarrhea so at least their food is clean.

Leave a Reply

