Another Burgundy – DUGAT PY’s 2011 Gevrey-Chambertin Vieilles Vignes

Posted: March 25, 2015 in wine
Tags: , ,

Dugat makes fine wines that French people love.  Their portfolio runs the full gamut of prices from affordable to if-you-have-to-ask.  I drank alongside new world pinots and found this wine too young and complex for my beginner palette to discern.  Organic, small production and a prestigious brand make this an affordable burgundy to test the hype.

the cheapest of the Dugat PYs

the cheapest of the Dugat PYs

I did not find the wine well balanced.  Strong taste compared to new world pinots.  I drunk it last whereas in hindsight I should have drunk first.  I generally save the most expensive wine to drink last as the more expensive wines generally overpower the rest.  Not the case with burgundies.

Gevrey-Chambertin Vieilles Vignes

youngest vines of the Dugat PY family at 30-50 years of age

If you love pinots, give it a try.  I can’t say I enjoyed this wine but I would imagine my palette to be at fault more so than the wine considering the price tag and the brand.  Dugat recommends the wine to age 6-8 years prior to uncorking and to let it decant for a few hours, two sets of instructions to which I did not follow.

Leave a Reply

