Vietnamese food by The Centre in Central – Vietnam Fast Food

Posted: November 28, 2014 in lunch
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

In an alleyway on Jubilee street is the entrance to Tit Hong Lane.  Giltman’s Bazaar is one alleyway for food serving the office workers inside the Centre, Tit Hong Lane is the other.  The restaurant is solely set up to serve the lunch rush so only order their signature dishes to avoid disappointment.

My meal arrived cold.  I imagine everyone was pre-made in a cafeteria style to deal with the lunch time rush.  I ordered the pepper beef with the red rice.  Red rice is not healthy red kernals nor brown rice but rather white rice fried in a tomato sauce.  Fried rice with tomato sauce would make the dish tasty, except the rice was cold and obviously stored in the refrigerator.  $55 for this signature dish and another $2 to unlock the cold drink option for $57.  This is double the price of my normal lunch meals and 3X the price of a McDonalds extra value meal to which I find troubling.  It’s decent Vietnamese food in a pinch but do not order for take out.  Take out portions are minuscule.  They also lack good pho.

2014-11-21 12.15.54-1

I like my food cold.  I love the pizza and pasta the day after.  It has much more flavour after sitting in my fridge over night.  I can’t say the same for Asian food as congealed sauce does not sound appetizing.  In light of the inability to find quality Vietnamese, this place fits the bill for the time being.  Lunch time food is generally a good indicator of food quality as the time limits and large crowds tend to show if the restaurant is serious in maintaining quality controls.

2014-11-21 12.21.08

refrigerator rice.

I don’t mind the food.  Luckily, Vietnamese food will also taste good in the cold.  I don’t think I will go back as the pricing makes for better options elsewhere but if I happen to be in the neighborhood with a craving for Vietnamese, there’s no need to sacrifice your stomach as I have already done so.

Leave a Reply

