Indian Food in Kennedy Town – The Clay Oven

Posted: October 14, 2014 in dinner, lunch
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The Clay Oven is the only Indian Restaurant in Kennedy Town.  The next closest Indian Restaurant is 3 km away.  If you’re craving Indian food, Clay Oven is the one and only option.  The food is not half bad, quite decent and has all the smells you associate with Indian food.  We ordered the following: garlic naan $30, indian rice $30, eggplant bharti dish $80, chicken tikka masala $80.

I have a love hate relationship with Indian food.  It’s tasty and I love the spices that go into the preparation but certain dishes will do a rough number on my stomach.  Butter chicken is one.  I love the taste and texture but my stomach loves to liquefy it.  I had to avoid their butter chicken on this occasion.  First visit it one to gauge the quality before diving off the deep end.

Garlic naan was tasty but there was not enough bits of garlic.  I love raw garlic for the health benefits so if you plan to charge $10 more for garlic bits over regular naan, I expect a healthy dosing.  The naan lacked the bubbles one expects to find when put through a tandoor oven.  This one was reminiscence of thick pita bread.

2014-10-09 20.57.28

This is the eggplant bharti.  It tastes very similar to my chicken tikka but don’t take my word for it as I need to work on my Indian cuisine taste buds.  I prefer the eggplant to the chicken.  The sauces are heavy.

2014-10-09 20.57.20

Appetizer plate, no charge.  It’s papadum and fried potatoes.  Mint sauce was good.  Spicy sauce did not lack heat.

2014-10-09 20.51.50

$235 for two people, $260 for total.

Comments
  1. Irene says:

    I’ve wanted to find an Indian joint that meets my exacting standards from my years in London. The Kowloon Cricket Club actually has pretty fantastic Indian dishes, and Cafe Deco has great tandoori, but I’ve heard Chung King mansions is the place to go for casual Indian goodness.

    Nice post on Kennedy Town. Fortunately have never had the same experience with butter chicken!

    • I have always wanted to eat in chungking mansions. I wander inside in the hopes one restaurant will meet basic food standards. Every single one does not refrigerate their yogurt to make mango lassi so I end up leaving with my stomach intact.

Leave a Reply

