Taiwanese food in Taipei – small family run restaurants are the best.

Posted: September 8, 2014 in food, lunch
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Taiwan is always on my list of fun destinations.  In my previous visits to Taipei, I got to experience nothing but the nightlife and beef noodle.  This time around I went back for a 6 day trip rather than a alcohol fueled weekend bender.  Taipei is a food lovers heaven.  They really experiment with different ingredients and everything is affordable.  Nightmarkets open every single night and everyone loves them.  I loved the night market food too but on some days I crave sitting indoors.

The best food to exemplify Taipei would be found at this restaurant:

2014-08-29 17.03.40

I have no idea how to get here, nor the contact information.  It’s in the Xinyi district across the street from an all female school.  On the initial walk in, you have the ability to chose your own cold platter.  All the food is infront of you and you pick and chose what you want, they weigh it to determine price then serve it to you.  I ordered the braised beef shank and bean curd.  It’s simple food, made fresh everyday.

2014-08-29 17.08.51

Another cold plate to order in TW is the cold cucumber in a peanut garlic sauce.  Restaurants usually keep it chilled inside a freezer, once you order it they mix everything together.  I love the taste of raw garlic.  It could have used less peanut sauce and more tang or a spicy kick but I still love it.

2014-08-29 17.08.57-1

Taiwanese love their noodles, this is the simplest iteration of Taiwanese noodles – fresh noodles with a light sprinkling of meat and vegetables.  The noodles at this restaurant are made to order.  A simple noodle dish.  It beats eating the normal beef noodle soup.

2014-08-29 17.13.46

Hot and sour soup because I’m a tourist and need something familiar in my mouth.

2014-08-29 17.13.52

My food spread for the afternoon.

2014-08-29 17.13.59

$250NT later.  Everything fit into my stomach.  Best food in all of TW.  This place beat out nightmarkets and fine dining in my books.

2014-08-29 17.28.05

Leave a Reply

