Best Congee in Kennedy Town

Posted: August 18, 2014 in breakfast, dinner, lunch, snack
Tags: , , , ,

I have been eating my way through Kennedy Town. In the past week I have found 3 congee restaurants.

2014-08-03 20.01.04

2014-08-03 19.57.29

2014-08-03 13.16.10

I ordered the same thing at three restaurants. Congee and noodles. The stereotypical HK congee consisting of squid, fried pork skin and shredded beef. Rice noodles.

At the cooked food centre, I was served the following:

2014-08-03 13.16.01

The noodles were greasy and the congee lost its thick consistency during cool down.  This is a bad sign when congee turns to water.  It’s usually a tell tale sign the congee is laced with flour as a thickening agent.  I didn’t enjoy the noodles as I found the glean on my lips a little on the heavy side.  Smithfield Cooked Food Centre’s congee restaurant was the cheapest.  $10 for the congee and $5 for the noodles.

2014-07-31 21.17.15-2

The congee never lost consistency during cool down and there’s a fragrant hint of soy bean in the congee.  There was a lot of ingredients inside the congee.  The noodles were not greasy so it was easy to eat.  This was the best congee.  $12 for the congee and $7 for the noodles.

Corner establishment congee is good but it’s a tiny location and they’re constantly pan frying lotus root cakes so you will leave smelling like a greasy spoon.  It was also the most expensive congee place so considering the venue and quality, there are better establishments to frequent.

Winner: 2014-08-03 20.00.06

One amazing thing about Kennedy Town compared to Central is the fact congee is available at all hours throughout the whole day.

Comments
  1. Flour in congee? Really? Ew. Does that make a gluten-free dish into a gluten dish? I live in a country where congee isn’t readily available so I always make it myself if I want some. I’d never add flour to it. That seems so wrong.

Leave a Reply

