Cheung Chau – stay away on long weekends

Posted: April 29, 2014 in lunch
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

I suspect everyone in HK had the same idea, go to Cheung Chau to get away from the city for the long weekend.  I went over on Friday over Easter.  Terrible idea.  Ferries were packed and the lines were long.  The highlights include the following:

Giant fishballs, 2 for $10.  Everyone was eating them.

banana wrapped inside egg waffle $14.  You’ll see everyone eating waffles in the same way you watch everyone order fishballs.  Another popular item is shaved ice similar to TW’s Ice Monster.

Dinner cost $171 with coke at the only restaurant on the promenade without a lineup.  You can’t miss it.  Most restaurants have a line que across the store front.  I had the wonderful opportunity of participating in al fresco dining only to have a wonderful gentleman stand in front of me to block my view.  To bespoke the table as his after I complete my dining experience.  Welcome to HK.  Manners and all around common sense go out the window.  I’m told this is rampant in HK as their mentality is if they block your view, it encourages you to eat quicker so he can have your spot.  Knowing this trait now, I know I will going forward.

My razor clams came stir fried off the shell already, rather than steamed with garlic and vermicelli.  This is a sure sign of using seafood that is not fresh.  I should have taken a look at neighboring tables before ordering as no one else in my vicinity had this dish on their table.

2014-04-18 17.41.19

 

Stir fry mussels.  No complaints.

2014-04-18 17.41.24

 

Every table had a vegetable dish of stir fry garlic and baby bok choy.  I did not order bok choy as my vegetable dish but this was the only dish where every table had seemed to order and be served the same thing.

2014-04-18 17.46.16-2

Beach is dirty, garbage everywhere so I would not recommend doing any beach activities.

Bike rentals seem to be popular in Cheung Chau so I’ll give it a try next time.

Lots of dried seafood as its the local bounty so if you plan to buy dried seafood from the chinese supermarkets, consider supporting the Cheung Chau dried seafood industry.  Cheung Chau is island living but stay away on long weekends as it gets super busy.  Cheung Chau is also approaching the annual bun festival on May 3-7.

Remember, it’s island living so take your time, relax and enjoy the sights.

Leave a Reply

