Turkey Kavaklidere’s Pendore Bogazkere 2010

Posted: April 7, 2014 in wine
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

I have now worked my way through every single Turkish red grape varietal available from my wine supplier: Kalecik Karasi, Okuzgozu and Bogazkere.  Bogazkere is easier to drink.  The Okuzgozu grape varietal to drink alongside a meal.  The bogazkere can be drunk on its own.

Wiki tells me the bogazkere will have dried fruit flavours and fig taste along with being strong body, long finish, spicy and good for aging up to 10 years.  My bottle was the 2010 vintage and aging may mellow the fellows out so its easier to drink.  Pendore Bogazkere is suppose to be a premier bottle of Turkey.  Pendore is one of the premium brands available through Kavaklidere and the wine I was drinking received the Commended mention in UK’s 2013 Decanters Wine Awards and UK’s 2013 International Wine Challenge.  The problem with being awarded the Commended mention is merely a formality as it only shows your wine didn’t place in the rankings but rather the winery had paid for the wines to be sampled.  Fail.

The Prestige Okuzgozu which I drunk in my previous review actually won a few awards: Silver medal at the UK 2013 International Wine and Spirit Competition and Gold medal at France’s 2013 Monde Selection.  My wine tasting palette is terrible.  It must be the blue collar roots.  I should go work on a wine harvest to develop real appreciation for grape juice.Image

It has a rough alcohol nose.  My taste buds are not able to ascertain anything except for the fact it has acidity and high tannins.  My choice in words will sound crude but the wine taste reminds me of burnt wood and hide.  I was able to taste raisins after swallowing so I now associate raisins to mean sweet after taste.  I drank the wine over 2 evenings.  It did not go bad and it was still drinkable.  Great to sample but I need to work my way though more wines before I start buying this one by the case.  I much preferred the Bogazkere over the Okuzgozu even though they were priced in similar fashion, $150 range.

It might be time to start drinking the top 8 grapes so I can develop the appreciation behind the export of the top 8 to all regions of the world.  Indigenous grapes do not seem up to snuff at the moment so I will chalk it up to a steep wine learning curve.  My reasoning behind sticking with indigenous grapes was to sample the wines made from grape varietals outside to top 8 as I refuse to conform.

Leave a Reply

